Karma

For as long as I can remember, karma has always been this force that others have wished on each other mercilessly, with a satisfying grin. The notion that for each wrong deed you do, it will turn around and happen to you, should be enough to scare you into walking the straight and narrow, but realistically, most people wave the notion of karma off, yet wish it profusely on their enemies, as if it’s a sin-free way of acquiring revenge. But let’s face it, who hasn’t wished that karma would come quickly and knock a few people off their high horse. I’m just as guilty of wishing karma on others as anyone else may be.
This morning I was posed the question of whether I believed what had happened to me was a result of karma, irony, or coincidence. Almost immediately, I grew angry. How could anyone pose that question and expect tempers not to flare or that a person will shrug their shoulders casually and pick one? I was offended.
I haven’t always made the best decisions in life, but I have always stood by the decisions I have made. Not because of the naivety of not knowing better, but because at one point in my life, that was the best decision I could have made. It doesn’t mean that I am without regret, but it also doesn’t mean that I’m idiotic enough to believe that they were sound choices either. What I can admit is that I’ve learned from my mistakes and poor judgement. That instead of reveling in the things I did wrong, I used them as the necessary tools to help me learn better. So of course, I took offense to that question. What does karma have to do with anything if I learned my lesson? Shouldn’t karma be reserved for those that haven’t?
The reality is, you can tell someone you’ve changed until you are blue in the face, but it won’t make them believe you. The whole idea behind karma, in the way it is currently used, is that regardless of if a lesson is learned, you must still suffer. Your sins can’t be removed so easily. You are still guilty as charged, even if you have had made amends already. It’s the petty man’s only source of joy and fulfillment, knowing that misery begets misery and that in due time, karma will ensure that the person who walked away seemingly unscathed will suffer like everyone else did.
But how fair is that? How fair is it to ask and want forgiveness and to essentially learn from your mistakes, but still have to suffer because of your poor choices? I guess, it can be argued that life isn’t fair, so tough cookie. But if that’s the case, at what point does good begin to beget good? Does all of that go out the window because of one poor choice?
Realistically, I guess the answer is yes. I think we all know of one too many stories of one poor decision, leading to a life that spirals out of control. Or rather, the inability of others to forgive that one mistake because it was that grand.
Maybe I just have too much hope in humanity, that I’m willing to turn the other cheek in the name of the person who slapped me turning their life around and learning from their mistakes. But I can’t help it.
I’m no more innocent as anyone else, so wishing that karma move swiftly upon my enemies is essentially just wishing karma to come back around and bite me in the butt. And trust me, I think there have been plenty of times and situations in which karma may have done that.
My point is, a person can’t always be defined by their bad choices in the way they should be defined by the lessons they learned from them. So maybe it’s time we stop seeking out karma and asking her to do her worst and instead start looking at how those situations we want to call karma over because of, have changed the person in question.  

Leave a Reply

