I Figured It Out

It hasn’t been a month yet since receiving that rejection letter. It hasn’t even been a month yet since deciding I will just move forward with my goal of pursuing my MFA instead.

For the past week or so, I have been trying to carve time out of my hectic schedule to get in some good quality writing time. I’ve been meaning to complete this one piece that I think would be a great addition to a collection that I haven’t quite started yet, but remains at the forefront of my mind. I’ve also been meaning to getting around to sitting down and doing some freewriting in the hopes of creating a quality writing sample to include with my MFA application.

Today as I sat at work, busying myself so that I wouldn’t have to notice how slowly or quickly time was passing, it dawned on me that I didn’t need to write 20-40 pages of new work when I had plenty of work that I haven’t touched since I completed my portfolio back in high school, but even more recently, when I created a single edition book of my work for my boyfriend. I can easily grab the best from these and compile them together to create a writing sample that will very well encapsulate everything that is required to showcase my style and work.

Aside from that, I have been doing my fair share of indulging in following the accounts (mostly on Instagram) of people who turned their dreams into realities and are making money off of it. I realized that just like the people I’m following, I’m very capable of turning my situation around in such a way that I can breathe easily and live the life I’ve always imagined. It’s just a matter of getting down it. Which I am more than ready to do.

And with all that, I’m finally take some time out to deal with my emotions and stress.

I’m hoping that very soon that I will have something I can share with all of you, but more importantly, that I’ll be well on the road to mental and emotional self recovery.

 

 

Leave a Reply

