Ambition

You can do anything that you set your mind to do. 

If there ever was a mantra that I should be living life by, it’s that very one. I remember when I got my first job out of college, which seemed more like a trial one than an actual position, because I quit the very next day, I was told that the difference between a goal and a dream is a deadline. I listened as the man in front of me, who was fairly young in age, shared how he went from dreaming to goal planning and how we could all go from dreamers to goal achievers. If I took anything away from those eight hours, it was that statement.

 

When I started creating my vision board, I didn’t know where to go with any of it. I plastered ideas and images that made the most sense in terms of what I should want in life, without actually figuring out what I really wanted. I mean, a home and a car, are great things to put on your vision board, but they are also vague. I mean, will be a satisfied just having a home and a car? Of course I will. But will I be happy just having any? Not quite.

 

It took me a while to get to where I am right now with my vision board; where it no longer focuses on the general and vague and it has a deadline for completion for it (to accomplish everything by December 31). I no longer stare at my vision board going, one day, but instead, before the year is up. And as I have stated before, my vision board has been quite handy in helping me achieve a lot of my goals. Most of them without even knowing it.

 

But aside from me raving about how much I genuinely love vision boarding, I want to address my actual ambitions.

 

I want to start businesses (yes, plural), I want to be a writer, and I want to be the woman I always imagined I would be when I was twelve. Maybe it’s something about the year 2016 or maybe it’s because I’ve turned 26, but regardless of the reason, I no longer want to settle or sit on my ambitions. I’m ready to create a game plan and then execute it. I’m ready to stop fearing failure and embrace it as a learning lesson of what I should do the next time around. I’m ready to do this thing.

 

In the timespan of a few short weeks, I’ve learned that it isn’t that I’m not ambitious, but that I’ve been willingly holding myself back. I’ve been undermining myself out of a fear, not of failure, but that I can be great and I wouldn’t know what to do with that greatness.

 

So I’m ready to do exactly what it is that I’m so fearful of, which is give myself an opportunity to be great. Cause realistically, I can do anything I set my mind to do. 

 

Leave a Reply

