It’s Been A Long Weekend…

…and a weekend I’ve been looking forward to since first putting in my time for the days off. And now that it’s coming to a conclusion, it just feels really bittersweet.

These past few days off, I’ve done so much with my daughter that I’ve received more than my fair share of hugs and kisses from her. This weekend, I finalized some things in regards to finally preparing to publish my first short story on Amazon, which has me extremely excited and just waiting to hit that publish/upload button. I’ve also gotten a chance to just play video games, which I’ve been looking forward to since God knows when at this point and haven’t gotten around to fully enjoying for one reason or another. While I spent most of my weekend laying in bed and refusing to make myself look remotely decent for potential company, for the first time in a long time, I actually got to relax and move at my own pace.

And now, I’m going to be heading back to work and I’m in no way, shape or form, ready for it. Granted this beautiful break from work was much needed and I’m ready to get back into the swing of things, this isn’t the swing of things I would like to be getting back into.

More than ever, I want to revamp my wardrobe and toss out some of these black clothes and replace them with color. I want to dye my hair a dark purple, a visible purple, and wear it in all it’s curly goodness without worries of needing to tame it for the office. I want to spend hours perfecting eyeshadow on myself and getting that winged liner right (hell, eyeliner, period).  I want to craft that new short story that has been stuck in my mind. I want to work on that novel that I’ve been daydreaming about. I want to whip out my high heels and get the proper insoles to make them comfortable for all day wear. I’m ready for change.

Maybe it’s because today I got to taste summer. Regardless of what it was, I’m not ready to walk into work tomorrow, although I’m ready to no longer be at home and sleeping my days away.

It really is time for a new career.

Leave a Reply

