Now or Later…

If it’s one topic that I’m seriously passionate about and passionate about discussing, it’s social media and its presence.

I attended college with the hopes of being a journalist, but within those first few classes of the topic, I was informed I was chasing a dying career and gained great interest in the media studies classes I was also taking. I quickly learned that social media, something still relatively new at the time, was becoming the forefront of all media. Unless you have a social media presence, whatever you are trying to achieve, will have little to no success. It was a fact that became increasingly true with every class I subsequently took in the Communications field of study.

I remember sitting in one class and having my professor look at us and tell us that there is no control when it comes to testing theories about media, because no one has lived a life without it. I must have spent the remainder of that class trying to figure out if the statement my professor made was true or not. But I couldn’t recall one memory of my own in which there was no media presence in my life. And the more I thought about it, the more my professor spoke about the influence of media and then subsequently showed us videos upon videos of researchers who have spent their careers documenting just how influential media is.

It was at that point, in watching those videos and thinking over my own life and the media I was subjected to, that my passion was born.

Suddenly graduating college and getting a job wasn’t enough for me, anymore. I wanted my doctorate. I wanted to teach the very subject that had intrigued from the moment I stepped foot into that first class regarding the topic. Media Studies.

I’ve toyed around with the idea of doing my thesis prior to entering my intended doctoral program. I’ve also toyed around with the idea of writing a book regarding the subject. As much as I’ve toyed around with the ideas, I just haven’t had the time to sit down and really get it all out there and read through the appropriate amounts of research needed as well as plan out the research that I would need to do as well.

Yet, I can’t help but imagine myself, standing at a podium, in front of a hundred people and presenting my research.

At this point in life, it’s just a matter of becoming serious enough to sit down and work on it. I mean, working on taking my GRE and applying to UMD and NYU for their doctoral fellowship programs are good starts, but I can’t rely solely on getting my Ph.D to get the kind of work done that I want to get done.

But this is where I’m at in life right now…that and starting this business.

One thought on “Now or Later…

Leave a Reply

