Entrepreneur

Some people make it seem like the quest to entrepreneurship is easy. It’s merely getting an idea, devoting some time to making that idea a reality, and then having people buy into it for instant profit. 

I’ve heard plenty of times that the first year in a business is the hardest. You don’t always make a profit that first year and often times, most businesses crash and burn before the year is even up. That novel idea for a business is quickly recognized for being an idea that went awry. Or the person trying to create a business from it quickly realize that they aren’t cut out for such things.

But then you have those rare stories of instant success and gratification in starting a business. A business that flourished within those first few months of it being established. How ill prepared those who began it really were, that when they began to see an actual profit, they didn’t know how to keep up with the demand. And those are the stories that every aspiring entrepreneur clings to. Those 1% stories of instant success even though they are well aware they are more likely to fall in that 99% who have a horrible first year from the inception of their business idea.

In planning out my business and gleefully sharing my aspirations with my boyfriend, I can’t shake the feeling that the very thing I’m so passionate and eager about creating is going to fall apart before it even begins. I look at the cost of production and I wince. There is no way I can yield any sort of profit with production costs so high. But even in shopping around, I’ve been struck with the reality that to reduce production costs, you have to produce a lot of product. But to produce, you need to first have a guaranteed audience. You need a group of people that will buy into your business and buy your products up. And that is what is making me weak in the knees with the feeling of defeat. Who do I sell my product to?

Sure, me and my boyfriend have discussed this at length, our targeted audience. But there is still that possibility that our intended audience won’t even be interested in it. And then what? I’m left feeling like an idiot for thinking so highly of project that couldn’t even get off the ground. I mean, just how big is the literary world? 

But I can’t give up before I begin. But I also don’t want to crash and burn. And the guarantor of success hasn’t shown itself yet. Yes, I can read the blogs of writers alike and recognize the need they have for my business venture, but I have no way of figuring out how to get them to buy into it. And that’s my real concern and struggle.

Leave a Reply

