“Don’t Count Your Chickens Before They’ve Hatched”

I remember in 5th grade we had a science fair and I had come up with this great idea for a project. I was in the bathroom with one of my friends and we were talking about the fair. I remember making mention of an experiment I wanted to do for it because it would be so cool, but I wasn’t sure yet.

I wanted to grow plants in different pots and then play different music for each pot and see which genre yielded a better crop.

She told me it was a great idea and that night I went home and mulled it over.

The very next day, she had declared that her science fair project would be none other than growing plants over a course of time and playing music to them and seeing which genre of music yielded a better crop. Needless to say, I was shocked and upset. Suddenly, I had to come up with a whole new idea.

She ended up winning the science fair that year off of my intended science project and when I tried to cry to my mom about it, she told me that not everything I plan on doing needs to be discussed beforehand. It’s always better to wait until you have a finished product before you go running your mouth.

So I learned an important less that year and a seemingly decent friendship ended shortly after. But in looking back on it, I’m now realizing what the quote means and why it’s better to just stay tight-lipped until you’ve already set things in motion and got the ball rolling.

These projects and business ventures that I’m working so diligently on to make a reality, I’m going to have to remain tight-lipped about until I’ve made some more progress with them. I don’t want to sit here chummy about all that I intend on accomplishing when I haven’t used any elbow grease yet to do it. At least then if things don’t pan out the way I had envisioned, I’m not embarrassed or upset by sharing it with everyone and if someone else was to decide to do it, I can’t cry over it because it was my idea first.

I mean, sure in 5th grade you think there is nothing left to learn and that life is just cruel and that girl sucked (btw, she’s now happily married and bought a house with her husband), but then you realize that life has a way of making your cry with the intent of trying to teach you something. And I’m happy to say, lesson learned.

Leave a Reply

